Arctic Ocean

The Arctic Ocean is the collection of frozen waters located near the Arctic Circle at the northern end of the planet. It occupies an area of ​​approximately 21 million square kilometers.

The Arctic is covered by ice floes that correspond to a huge volume of frozen waters and, for this reason, is also called the Arctic Glacial Sea.

The Arctic Ocean includes territories such as the Russian Federation, Alaska, Canada, Greenland, Iceland and the Scandinavian Peninsula.

Arctic waters come from the Atlantic and Pacific Ocean, which are integrated through the Bering Strait.

The Arctic Ocean has a depth of approximately 5,000 meters and its waters remain frozen year-round. In this region are very common icebergs, large blocks of ice that come off the floes and float across the ocean.

Although configured as an ocean, the Arctic is not suitable for use such as fishing and maritime transport like other oceans, to the detriment of climate adversity, as temperatures are constantly low and can reach -60 ° C.

The climatic characteristics of this region originate from its geographical location, the sunlight shines with low intensity in the face of the high degrees of inclination, thus the solar irradiation does not occur, and therefore it remains very cold throughout the year.
In the Arctic Ocean are inserted several smaller seas, such as Barents Sea, Kara Sea, Laptev Sea, Eastern Siberia Sea, Chukchi Sea, Beaufort Sea and Lincoln Sea. The waters of the Arctic Ocean have a restricted interaction with the other oceans.